VA AWWA Larry Gordon Safety Award

This award was established in 2013 to encourage waterworks facilities to participate in promoting an active and effective safety program and to recognize those facilities that do.  The award was named after Larry Gordon of Spotsylvania County Utilities, an active member of the Accident Prevention and Safety Committee prior to losing his battle with cancer.  Mr. Gordon was a major proponent of safety practices and safety training.  The award selection committee is a sub-committee of the Safety Committee.

The waterworks facility shall be a member of the Virginia Section either as a Utility Member or have at least one individual member employed at the facility.  The facility must also submit to an interview process to include an on-site visit and safety program review by the Safety sub-committee.

A complete application must be submitted online by May 31st. Please use the link below to begin the application.

The award will be presented to a facility representative at the Joint Annual Meeting (WaterJAM) VA AWWA awards luncheon. 

The purpose of the VA AWWA Larry Gordon Safety Award is to encourage members to engage in an active and effective safety program in water utilities in the aspects of source water, water treatment, and water testing, and water distribution.
Benefits of Submitting an Application:
  • Benchmark your facility safety program
  • Remove or mitigate safety hazards
  • Promotes facility safety awareness among staff and management
  • Identify safety program improvements
  • Reduce workplace accidents
  • Be recognized as a safe workplace by peers
  • Helps prepare your facility and staff for a Virginia OSHA (VOSH) Inspection
  • Demonstrates to your employee's and management’s commitment to a safe work environment
  1. Facilities that received this award within the previous two years are not eligible.
  2. Facilities that have applied in previous years and have not won this award are encouraged to apply
  3. At least one (1) employee of the nominated facility must have a current membership status (in any category) in VA AWWA.
Facility Inspection: 
Upon receipt of your application, the VA AWWA Safety Awards champion will schedule a visit to your facility to review your overall safety program.  A winner will be selected and notified as soon as the results are final.  
Areas of Interest
The inspection team is looking for, but not limited to:
  • Evidence of a good safety record
  • Facility-specific written Safety Program
  • Maintenance of all safety equipment (Life Safety & Personal Protective Equipment - PPE)
  • A walkthrough of the facility for safety compliance and level of security
  • Any other information that would complement the facility's safety compliance and level of security
  • Safety Training Course Program & Documentation of syllabus and attendance.
All eligible winners of the VA AWWA Larry Gordon Safety Award will be submitted for the AWWA Wendell LaDue Utility Safety Award.
Presentation of the Award
The Award shall be presented at the Awards Luncheon during the VA AWWA Annual Meeting (WaterJAM).
All awards need to be submitted using the online form.  Please click "Nominate" below to begin the process. If you wish to review the questions asked before getting started, please click here for a copy of the entry form.  
To download a copy of the guidelines, click here.

Past Winners

2022  Rivanna Water and Sewer Authority, Crozet Water Treatment Plant
2021   Virginia American Water, Prince William Water District
2020   Henrico County Water Treatment Facility
2019   Spotsylvania County Utilities
2018   Henrico County Water Treatment Facility
2017   Virginia American Water, Prince William Water District
2016   Spotsylvania County Utilities
2015   Town of Smithfield Reverse Osmosis Plant
2014   Newport News Harwoods Mill Water Treatment Plant