Do you know someone who has contributed to the water industry and the Virginia Section in a substantial way? What about a company that supports its employees' growth by involvement in the Virginia Section?  Why not nominate them for one of the following VA AWWA awards.  The deadline to submit nominations is this Wednesday, June 30th.  Details about each award are online (
Remember: It only takes a few minutes to nominate someone but the honor lasts a lifetime.
George Warren Fuller Award
The George Warren Fuller Award is presented annually by each AWWA section to a member for distinguished service in the water supply field in commemoration of the sound engineering skill, the brilliant diplomatic talent, and the constructive leadership that characterized the life of George Warren Fuller.
Herbert W. Evans, Jr. Distinguished Service Award
This award is given in recognition of the demonstrated activity of a member of AWWA who has contributed outstanding participation, counsel, and progressiveness to the Section for a period no less than 10 years.
Edward H. Ruehl Operator of the Year Award
This award recognizes eligible Virginia Operators who exemplify an exceptional work ethic and demonstrate practices that help sustain and further promote Operator Programs.
Sherry L. Williams Leadership Award
Established in 2016, this award acknowledges the contributions and achievements of a VA AWWA Section member that has shown exceptional leadership skills, professional expertise, and dedication to the Section.
VA AWWA Larry Gordon Safety Award
This award was established to encourage waterworks facilities to participate in promoting an active and effective safety program and to recognize those facilities that do.
Heroism Award
This award shall constitute recognition of an act of heroism on the part of an employee(s) in the water utility or wastewater utility profession. To be eligible for this award the rescuer(s) must, within the past 12 months, have performed a significant rescue act either on or off the job towards saving another person or persons from loss of life or extreme injury, and in the process, must have placed himself/herself at great personal risk.
Courageous Service Award
This award shall constitute recognition of courageous service on the part of an employee(s) in the water utility or wastewater utility profession. To be eligible for this award the individual(s) must, within the past 12 months, as the result of extraordinary and/or catastrophic events, have demonstrated acts of dedication to their profession, so as to ensure and maintain the provision of water and wastewater services to the communities they serve, in circumstances where they have placed the needs of said community above their own safety and well-being.
Employer Support Award
This award is given by the Section to recognize employers that support their employees' growth and development process through continuing education, involvement in AWWA and Virginia Section AWWA activities, and participation in VA AWWA committees.
Public Information Awards (four categories)
The Water Awareness & Outreach Committee invites you to participate in the annual Public Information Awards Program. Select from four(4) categories:
  • Water Awareness & Education
  • Issues & Crisis Management
  • Internal Communications
  • Social Media
If you have any questions about any of these awards, please contact Geneva Hudgins by email or phone 434.386.3190.